Reptile Medicine and Surgery - E-Book

Reptile Medicine and Surgery - E-Book

This outstanding clinical reference provides valuable insights into solving clinical dilemmas, formulating diagnoses, developing therapeutic plans, and verifying drug dosages for both reptiles and amphibians. The information is outlined in an easy-to-use format for quick access that is essential for emergency and clinical situations. Discusses veterinary medicine and surgery for both reptiles and amphibians Features complete biology of snakes, lizards, turtles, and crocodilians Provides step-by-step guidelines for performing special techniques and procedures such as anesthesia, clinical pathology, diagnostic imaging, euthanasia and necropsy, fracture management, soft tissue surgery, and therapeutics Covers specific diseases and conditions such as anorexia, aural abscesses, and digit abnormalities in a separate alphabetically organized section 53 expert authors contribute crucial information to the study of reptiles and offer their unique perspectives on particular areas of study The expansive appendix includes a reptile and amphibian formulary A new full-color format features a wealth of vivid images and features that highlight important concepts and bring key procedures to life 29 new chapters covering diverse topics such as stress in captive reptiles, emergency and critical care, ultrasound, endoscopy, and working with venomous species Many new expert contributors that share valuable knowledge and insights from their experiences in practicing reptile medicine and surgery Unique coverage of cutting-edge imaging techniques, including CT and MRI

Bulletin

Bulletin


Tertiary Frogs from Central Europe

Tertiary Frogs from Central Europe

Remains of fossil frogs, elsewhere scarce, have been found abundantly for more than one hundred and twenty five years in the Tertiary deposits in northern and western Bohemia. In most cases they are imprints of complete skeletons or their parts poorly preserved in carbonaceous claystones, and difficult to interpret. A new locality of Tertiary diatomites that has been discovered in 1950 in northern Bohemia, not far from the town of DMin, is Bechlejovice. This locality yielded very interesting material: in addition to innumerable leaf imprints, frequent frog-remains were so excellently pre served that they made possible studies not only of skeletal parts but also outlines of muscles, organs, blood vessels, nerves, pigments, some cartilages, glands, etc. Up to now, numbers designating remains of adult individuals have totalled 1,100, besides 80 palaeobatrachid tadpoles. There were also found seven adult specimens and more than 60 tadpoles of pelobatids. Nor should be omitted other localities in Bohemia (see below) which furnished new material and thus much new information. Examinations made on the new finds necessitated revision of earlier collections deposited at the following Institutions: The Department of Palaeontology of Charles University, Prague; the National Museum in Prague; the State Museum for Mineralogy and Geology, Dresden; the Palaeontologic Institute and Museum of Humboldt University, Berlin (East Germany); the Institute for Geology and Palaeonto logy of Martin-Luther-Universitat, Halle-Wittenberg, DomstraBe 5, East Germany; the British Museum (Natural History), London.

Emerald Labyrinth

A Scientist's Adventures in the Jungles of the Congo

Emerald Labyrinth

Emerald Labyrinth is a scientist and adventurer's chronicle of years exploring the rainforests of sub-Saharan Africa. The richly varied habitats of the Democratic Republic of the Congo offer a wealth of animal, plant, chemical, and medical discoveries. But the country also has a deeply troubled colonial past and a complicated political present. Author Eli Greenbaum is a leading expert in sub-Saharan herpetology - snakes, lizards, and frogs - who brings a sense of wonder to the question of how science works in the twenty-first century. Along the way he comes face to face with spitting cobras, silverback mountain gorillas, wild elephants, and the teenaged armies of AK-47-toting fighters engaged in the continent's longest-running war. As a bellwether of the climate and biodiversity crises now facing the planet, the Congo holds the key to our planet's future. Writing in the tradition of books like The Lost City of Z, Greenbaum seeks out the creatures struggling to survive in a war-torn, environmentally threatened country. Emerald Labyrinth is an extraordinary book about the enormous challenges and hard-won satisfactions of doing science in one of the least known, least hospitable places on earth.